Bottom two will be relegated from Super League, RFL confirms

The two teams to drop out of Super League at the end of 2014 will be determined by league position, the RFL has confirmed.

The governing body’s independent Board of Directors ratified the new league structure late last week, meaning Super League and the Championship will become 12-team competitions that split into three groups of eight in the latter stages of the season.

It means that two teams will drop out of Super League at the end of this year, and there will be no special dispensation for Catalan Dragons or London Broncos, should they finish in the bottom two.

In a statement, the RFL said: “The RFL Board’s ratification means that two clubs will be relegated from the First Utility Super League at the end of the 2014 season, with the relegated clubs to be those finishing in 13th and 14th position after 27 rounds.

“Details of the decision, its impact on the clubs currently outside Super League, the mechanisms by which the Kingstone Press Championship will become a 12-team competition and the new format of Championship One will be outlined to the Championships clubs at a meeting on Thursday February 6.”

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.