Bird happy to fill in

Greg Bird says he is happy to swap positions after being named at five-eighth for Gold Coast’s trial match with South Sydney on Saturday.

Coach John Cartwright has handed Bird, normally a loose foward, the number six jersey ahead of Jordan Rankin and new signing Luke Capewell.

The Titans are currently on the lookout for a long term replacement for Mat Rogers, who retired at the end of last season.

And despite being named out of his usual position, Bird is happy to oblige.

“Like I’ve said before, it’s whatever is going to be the best for the team,’’ said Bird.

“I think I’ll be starting there but there are a lot of other guys in the squad, Jordan Rankin and Luke Capewell, who will probably get an opportunity to show their talents there as well.

“It’s a long football season and you don’t really know where you are going to play or if you’re going to play the whole year in the one position.’’

Meanwhile, winger David Mead returns after a long term foot injury while former Roosters player Riley Brown gets a chance at hooker.

William Zillman will appear at fullback in front of veteran playmaker Preston Campbell.

Titans Squad.        

William Zillman                                           
Kevin Gordon                                             
Steve Michaels                                          
Joseph Tomane                                         
David Mead                                                
Greg Bird                                                   
Scott Prince                                                           
Luke Bailey                                                
Riley Brown                                                
10  Matthew White                                         
11  Ben Ridge                                                
12  Bodene Thompson                                
13  Ashley Harrison                         
14  Michael Henderson
15  Luke O’Dwyer
16  Clinton Toopi
17  Preston Campbell
19  Jordan Rankin
20  Luke Capewell
22  Sam Tagaetese
23  Will Matthews
24  Joe Vickery
25  Shannon Walker
26  Luke Page
27  Dominique Peyroux
28  Matt Srama

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.