Australia reveal squad for World Cup final

Image credit: NRL Photos

Australia head coach Mal Meninga has named an unchanged squad for the Rugby League World Cup final.

The Kangaroos face England in the 2017 Rugby League World Cup final on Saturday at the Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane, 9am kick-off.

Meninga hasn’t made one change to his team that thrashed Fiji in the semi-finals last weekend.

And the former St Helens star thinks having unchanged team will help his side this weekend.

He said: “This is the culmination of a lot of hard work and I am proud of the efforts of the entire squad leading into the World Cup final.

“It has helped significantly to have an unchanged line-up over the quarter-final and semi-final stages as we look to build into the final.

“This will be an enormous occasion for the game and for these players and I’m sure they will all do their country proud on Saturday night.”

Australia’s 21-man squad to face England: 1. Billy Slater, 2. Dane Gagai, 3. Will Chambers, 4. Josh Dugan, 5. Valentine Holmes, 6. Michael Morgan, 7. Cooper Cronk, 8. Aaron Woods, 9. Cameron Smith (C), 10. David Klemmer, 11. Boyd Cordner, 12. Matt Gillett, 13. Josh McGuire.

Interchange: 14. Wade Graham, 15. Jordan McLean, 16. Reagan Campbell-Gillard, 17. Tyson Frizell.

Reserves: 18. Felise Kaufusi, 19. Tom Trbojevic, 20. Cameron Munster, 21. Ben Hunt.

About Drew Darbyshire 8032 Articles
Love Rugby League Deputy Editor. Joined the site ahead of the 2017 World Cup and been a full-time reporter since 2018.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.