Australia name World Cup squad

Six-time winners Australia have named their 24-man squad for the World Cup.

It includes three uncapped players, in the shape of Boyd Cordner (Sydney Roosters), Josh Papalii (Canberra) and Andrew Fifita (Cronulla).

Cameron Smith will captain the team, which includes only three players who featured in Sunday’s NRL Grand Final between Sydney Roosters and Manly Sea Eagles.

One of those is Sea Eagles half Daly Cherry-Evans, who won the Clive Churchill Medal for man of the match, despite being in the losing side.

The squad includes former Super League player Greg Bird, who had a spell with Catalan in 2009

Full squad: Cameron Smith (captain), Paul Gallen, Greg Bird, Darius Boyd, Daly Cherry-Evans, Boyd Cordner, Cooper Cronk, Robbie Farah, Andrew Fifita, Jarryd Hayne, Greg Inglis, Michael Jennings, Luke Lewis, Brett Morris, Josh Morris, Nate Myles, Josh Papalii, Corey Parker, Matt Scott, Billy Slater, James Tamou, Brent Tate, Sam Thaiday, Jonathan Thurston.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.