Australia name five debutants in team for Kiwi clash

Australia have named their team to face New Zealand in Brisbane on Saturday, and it includes five test debutants.

Backs Daniel Tupou, Dylan Walker and Josh Mansour, and forwards Aaron Woods and Aidan Guerra are all expected to make their first Kangaroos appearances on Saturday.

“The combinations are working really well. The young guys are fitting in really well and it’s good having some leaders around them as well,” said Kangaroos full-back Greg Inglis.

“I think they bring a lot of enthusiasm into the side which is a plus for us.”

Inglis will also start in his preferred position of full-back, with no Billy Slater in the line-up.

“It’s something I’ve been striving for but it’s hard when Billy Slater is in that number 1 jersey. I’m just going to embrace my opportunity and hopefully hold onto it,” Inglis added.

“First thing about me is that I’ve got age on my side – Billy’s in his thirties (Slater is currently 31) and I’m only 27. At this point in time he would’ve been picked at number 1 if he didn’t pull out with injury, so it’ll all unfold as the years go on.

“At the end of the day I’m just happy to be in this Aussie side no matter what number jersey it is.”


1 Greg Inglis (South Sydney Rabbitohs/Bowraville Tigers), 2 Josh Mansour (Penrith Panthers/St Johns/Kingsgrove Colts), 3 Michael Jennings (Sydney Roosters/St Marys/West City Tigers), 4 Dylan Walker (South Sydney Rabbitohs/Mascot Jets), 5 Daniel Tupou (Sydney Roosters/Berala Bears/Guildford Owls), 6 Daly Cherry-Evans (Manly Warringah Sea Eagles/Mackay Brothers), 7 Cooper Cronk (Melbourne Storm/Souths Acacia), 8 Aaron Woods (Wests Tigers/Leichhardt Juniors), 9 Cameron Smith (c) (Melbourne Storm/Logan Brothers), 10 Sam Thaiday (Brisbane Broncos/Townsville Brothers), 11 Beau Scott (Newcastle Knights/Picton Magpies), 12 Ryan Hoffman (Melbourne Storm/Campbelltown Collegians), 13 Greg Bird (Gold Coast Titans/West Maitland Red Dogs/Maitland Pumpkin Pickers)

14 Robbie Farah (Wests Tigers/Enfield Federals/Leichhardt Wanderers), 15 Aidan Guerra (Sydney Roosters/Townsville Brothers), 16 Josh Papalii (Canberra Raiders/Logan Brothers), 17 Corey Parker (Brisbane Broncos/Logan Brothers)

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.