Australia and New Zealand name squads for Anzac test

Australia and New Zealand have named their squads for Friday’s Anzac Test match at Sydney’s Allianz Stadium.

The two sides last met in the World Cup final at Old Trafford in November, with the Kangaroos romping away with a 34-2 victory to reclaim the trophy.

There is just one change to the Australia starting 13 from that final, with Josh Morris picked at centre instead of Jarryd Hayne, with Boyd Cordner and Nate Myles coming in on the bench ahead of Josh Papalii and Andrew Fifita.

Some reports Down Under are claiming the Kiwi squad to be their weakest line-up of all time, having selected six rookies and left out superstar Sonny Bill Williams, with coach Stephen Kearney determined to focus on the future.

Of the six rookies, two are former Super League players, in the shape of ex-Wakefield and current Penrith star Isaac John and former Hull prop Sam Moa, now at Sydney Roosters.

Australia: Billy Slater (Melbourne Storm), Darius Boyd (Newcastle Knights), Greg Inglis (South Sydney Rabbitohs), Josh Morris (Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs, Brett Morris (St George Illawarra Dragons), Johnathan Thurston (North Queensland Cowboys), Cooper Cronk (Melbourne Storm), Matt Scott (North Queensland Cowboys), Cameron Smith (Melbourne Storm), James Tamou (North Queensland Cowboys), Greg Bird (Gold Coast Titans), Sam Thaiday (Brisbane Broncos), Paul Gallen (Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks); Interchange: Daly Cherry-Evans (Manly Sea Eagles), Boyd Cordner (Sydney Roosters), Nate Myles (Gold Coast Titans), Corey Parker (Brisbane Broncos); 18th man: Matt Gillett (Brisbane Broncos)

New Zealand: Gerard Beale (St George Illawarra Dragons), Adam Blair (Wests Tigers), Jesse Bromwich (Melbourne Storm), Kenny Bronwich (Melbourne Storm), Greg Eastwood (Canterbury Bulldogs), Tohu Harris (Melbourne Storm), Siliva Havili (NZ Warriors), Ben Henry (NZ Warriors), Peta Hiku (Manly Sea Eagles), Isaac John (Penrith Panthers), Shaun Johnson (NZ Warriors), Simon Mannering (NZ Warriors), Sam Moa (Sydney Roosters), Jason Nightingale (St George-Illawarra Dragons), Kevin Proctor (Melbourne Storm), Martin Taupau (Wests Tigers), Roger Tuivasa-Sheck (Sydney Roosters), Dean Whare (Penrith Panthers).

About James Gordon 7073 Articles
Love Rugby League editor. Founded the website back in 2005. Worked with a range of clubs and sponsors during that time. Also commentates for BBC.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.