All the dates you need to know regarding the 2020 Challenge Cup

Yorkshire Men’s League winners Bentley will host the first round draw of the 2020 Challenge Cup on Thursday, December 5.

The draw will be streamed live on the BBC Sport website, red button and the BBC Sport connected TV app, as well as through the Rugby Football League’s channels.

The BBC will cover every round of the Challenge Cup in 2020 by selecting one tie to be streamed live on the weekend of January 11-12.

There will be 44 community clubs who will take part in the first round of the Cup, with the 11 League 1 clubs entering at the third round stage on the weekend of February 8-9.

The 13 English Championship sides will enter in round four on the weekend of February 22-23, while Huddersfield, Hull KR, Wakefield and Toronto will enter in the fifth round on the weekend of March 14-15.

The sixth round will see the top eight teams from the 2019 Super League enter the competition on the weekend of April 4-5 and the quarter-finals will be played on the weekend of May 9-10.

And the semi-finals will be played as a double-header for the third consecutive year on the weekend of June 6-7, with further details to be announced soon. The Challenge Cup final at Wembley will be played in July for the first time next season.

2020 Challenge Cup

December 5: First round draw

January 11-12: First round

January 25-26: Second round (22 first round winners)

February 8-9: Third round (11 second round winners, 11 League 1 clubs)

February 22-23: Fourth round (11 third round winners, 13 English Championship clubs)

March 14-15: Fifth round (12 fourth round winners, plus four Super League clubs – Huddersfield Giants, Hull KR, Toronto Wolfpack, Wakefield Trinity)

April 4-5: Sixth round (eight fifth round winners, plus the remaining eight Super League clubs)

May 9-10: Quarter-finals

June 6-7: Semi-finals (double-header, details TBC)

Saturday, July 18: Final – Wembley Stadium

The 44 community clubs in the Challenge Cup first round

Ashton Bears

Barrow Island

Bedford Tigers


British Army

Dewsbury Moor


East Hull

Edinburgh Eagles

Featherstone Lions

Great Britain Police

Hammersmith Hills Hoists

Hunslet Club Parkside

Ince Rose Bridge

Jarrow Vikings

Leigh Miners Rangers

Lock Lane

London Chargers



Normanton Knights

Oulton Raiders

Pilkingtons Recs


Rhondda Outlaws

Rochdale Mayfield

Royal Navy

Saddleworth Rangers


Sherwood Wolf Hunt



Thatto Heath Crusaders

Thornhill Trojans

Torfaen Tigers

Underbank Rangers


West Bank Bears

West Bowling

West Hull

Wests Warriors

Wigan St Judes

Wigan St Patricks

York Acorn

More on site

Canberra Raiders confirm re-signing of Sam Williams

Quiz: Can you name the previous 30 Lance Todd Trophy winners?

Ben Davies commits to Oldham

Don Furner excited by Canberra’s partnership with Huddersfield

Women’s star Caitlin Beevers nominated for BBC Young Personality of the Year

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.