Academy stars in Wakefield squad list

Wakefield have rewarded seven of their 2009 Academy Grand Final winning team with full-time Super League contracts for 2010.

Wingers Dale Morton and Matthew King, hooker James Davey, stand off or hooker Matthew Wildie, props Russell Spiers and Kyle Trout and Academy international squad centre Danny Cowling have all been given numbers in the 2010 Wakefield engage Super League squad.

In the Wakefield numbering scheme only the number 21 has been left vacant while new signings Darryl Millard (4), Ben Jeffries (6),Shane Tronc (8), Terry Newton (9), Glen Morrison (12), Paul Johnson (16) and Paul King (19) are all new in the Wildcat list.

Wildcats head coach John Kear said: “Last season the club’s Academy team took the League Leadership trophy and beat Wigan Warriors 30-4 in the Grand Final.

“We’ve got faith in the quality young players that this club is producing and we’ve put our money where our mouth is by giving them contracts.

“It’s a vote in the future of young British players as well as vindicating the player pathways we’ve developed here at the Hearwell Stadium.

“These young men are now valued members of our squad and, hopefully, we’re also delivering an act of faith by backing young British players for the future of Super League.”

Wakefield Trinity Wildcats 2010 Squad Numbers

1. Matthew Blaymire
2. Damien Blanch
3. Sean Gleeson
4. Daryl Millard
5. Luke George
6. Ben Jeffries
7. Danny Brough
8. Shane Tronc
9. Terry Newton
10. Michael Korkidas
11. Dale Ferguson
12. Glenn Morrison
13. Jason Demetriou
14. Sam Obst
15. Kyle Bibb
16. Paul Johnson
17. Kevin Henderson
18. Aaron Murphy
19. Paul King
20. Tevita Leo-Latu
22. Cain Southernwood
23. Dale Morton
24. James Davey
25. Richard Moore
26. Matthew Wildie
27. Russell Spiers
28. Kyle Trout
29. Matthew King
30. Danny Cowling

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.