2011 Super League Dream Team named

An all-new half-back pairing takes its place in the exciting 2011 Engage Super League Dream Team which was unveiled at Old Trafford, Manchester, today.

Newcomers Rangi Chase of Castleford Tigers and Scott Dureau, the Catalan Dragons scrum-half, are among six debutants in the prestigious team of the year which has over 150 tries, 750 points and 5,000 tackles to its name in 2011.

Other new faces include the oldest player currently playing in the Engage Super League, Catalan Dragons second row Steve Menzies, who becomes the 121st player to be selected in the Super League Dream Team since 1996.

Hull FC’s Tom Briscoe has earned his first selection in the squad on the wing and is joined by another debutant on the opposite flank, where Joel Monagahan of Warrington stars in only his first season in Super League. Monaghan’s team-mate Garreth Carvell is the sixth debutant in the front row.

Wigan Warriors full-back Sam Tomkins makes his third successive appearance in the Super League Dream Team, having been selected at stand-off in 2009 and 2010, while his club captain Sean O’Loughlin is one of four other players to return after being selected in 2010.

St Helens duo James Graham and James Roby both make their second successive appearances in the front row while Warrington’s third representative in the squad, Ben Westwood, retains his place in the second row.

Both the centre positions in the squad are occupied by players making a comeback to the Dream Team following long absences, with Hull FC’s Kirk Yeaman back in the side for the first time since 2006 and Wigan’s George Carmont returning after a three-year absence.

The Engage Super League Dream Team is chosen by a panel of Rugby League journalists and broadcasters who regularly cover the Engage Super League competition and is based on form throughout the regular season.

To celebrate the 2011 Engage Super League Dream Team, sponsors Engage in partnership with kit suppliers ISC, have developed a special commemorative kit which will detail the names of every player to have appeared in a Dream Team selection since 1996. Each player, who has appeared in the Dream Team, has been given an individual ID number and these numbers have been woven into the design of the shirt.

2011 ENGAGE SUPER LEAGUE DREAM TEAM (previous appearances and selection ID number)

1 – Sam Tomkins (Wigan) – 2009, 2010   – 107th player
2 – Tom Briscoe (Hull FC) – Debut    – 116th player
3 – Kirk Yeaman (Hull FC) – 2006    – 84th player
4 – George Carmont (Wigan) – 2008    – 99th player
5 – Joel Monaghan (Warrington) – Debut    – 117th player
6 – Rangi Chase (Castleford) – Debut    – 118th player
7 – Scott Dureau (Catalan) – Debut    – 199th player
8 – James Graham (St Helens) – 2008, 2010    – 102nd player
9 – James Roby (St Helens)  – 2007, 2010    – 94th player
10 – Gareth Carvell (Warrington) – Debut    – 120th player
11 – Ben Westwood (Warrington) – 2008, 2010    – 103rd player
12 – Steve Menzies (Catalan) – Debut    – 121st player
13 – Sean O’Loughlin (Wigan) – 2010    – 115th player


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.